Full Interview: Duke Head Coach John Danowski


Duke John Danowski Interview

PHILADELPHIA – Duke is no stranger to lacrosse’s championship weekend – the Blue Devils are making their seventh straight trip to the lacrosse final four. But success once they get to Memorial Day weekend hasn’t been the norm for coach John Danowski’s team.

Despite making their ninth trip to the semifinals this year, the Blue Devils have reached the championship game just three times, including this year. The Blue Devils lost the 2007 title game before winning the only championship program history in 2010.

Ahead of the game, our Dave Ryan and Steve Panarelli had a chance to speak with the Blue Devils’ head coach.

(Listen to John Danowski’s interview from 5/27/13)

Coverage of the 2013 Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship Game begins today at 12:45 PM Eastern on Westwood One Sports. You can listen right on WestwoodOneSports.com, on a Westwood One radio affiliate, on the TuneIn app for mobile devices and on SiriusXM College Sports Nation (Ch. 91).

Most Recent Lacrosse Posts

This Week in the NCAA: Maryland and Denver win D-I lacrosse titles

29 May 2015
The lacrosse season is in the books after a busy weekend in Philadelphia over Memorial Day. The first Division I title was handed out on Sunday in nearby Chester, Pennsylvania, as the Maryland women lifted the trophy for a second consecutive season by defeating North Carolina in the championship game.…
Read More »

Men’s Lacrosse Championship Preview

24 May 2015
PHILADELPHIA – 12 months ago, Denver and Maryland made it to Memorial Day Weekend as part of lacrosse’s final four, but for both the Pioneers and the Terps, that’s where the journey ended, with semifinal losses to Duke and Notre Dame respectively. In 2015, however, the road for one team…
Read More »

This Week in the NCAA: Maryland wins women’s lacrosse

30 May 2014
It was a busy week for handing out hardware in the NCAA, with multiple championships decided in baseball, softball, golf and lacrosse. In Division I lacrosse, the men’s title went to Duke, while the women’s trophy is headed to College Park, as the Maryland Terrapins beat Syracuse in the final.…
Read More »
Load more posts