Men’s Lacrosse Championship Highlights: Denver bests Maryland for first title


Wesley BergPHILADELPHIA – For the first time, the NCAA Men’s Division I lacrosse championship trophy is headed west.

The Denver Pioneers became the first team from outside the Eastern time zone to win the title, defeating Maryland 10-5 in Monday’s championship game at Lincoln Financial Field.

Wesley Berg once again led the way, with five of the Pioneers’ ten goals. Berg also had the game-winner in overtime during Saturday’s semifinal win over Notre Dame.

Dave Ryan and Mark Dixon called the action on Westwood One Sports.